Snippets, Stop-its, and Snares, Oh My!

I haven’t blogged in a while and I’ve missed it. When I create a blog, I like to wait for that one subject to grab me and inspire me enough to create a whole piece centered around it. Lately, my mind has been on so many different areas of my life, it’s been hard to be focused on only one….so, to satisfy this particular writing need, I decided to take you down a few of the myriad routes my thoughts have, and are, travelling.

Where to begin. Well most people I suppose would start at the beginning; but, mine really starts near the ending. Of 2014, that is.

The snippets:

The beginning starts on a sad note. Sometime in the latter part of 2014 I said goodbye to my Pug companion of fifteen years. I don’t remember the date or the month. I don’t want to. All I do know is that a piece of my heart went with her that will never be replaced. Why do I start with that? Because her health had been declining and all my thoughts and concern had been devoted to her near the end. No writing got done on my blog or my book – which, even prior to that, my book was on a back burner for almost nine months due to another writing project. So, with all that behind me, it was with an unwelcome relief that I was able to pick my book back up to continue on.

I’m really excited where I am with the book and where it’s going. I have a deadline date I have set for myself to have it completed and on Amazon (a hint: within the next sixty days). There’s so much to do outside of writing it, though! Especially for a first-time author. I’m not overwhelmed…yet. It’s fresh and exhilarating and I love learning and experiencing new things (at least when it comes to writing and marketing). In the meantime, to inspire me even more, and, if I am honest, most of all….I now have a cover. This isn’t a cover reveal, in toto, but it’s close enough to share and give you a first glimpse.

in our own time preview A low-res (1)

One of the important aspects of coming out of the gate when you publish is getting the word out. If you think you would consider helping me promote “In Our Own Time” on your blog when I publish, please contact me either by commenting below or by email to let me know; and/or, if you would be interested in reading and reviewing the book, I would love to add you to my list. Please, the more, the better!

In the meantime, another important snippet to pass along is the latest information about a GREAT author and great friend, R.S. Guthrie. Blood Land FinalHe’s been the busy writer – having had created an audible book on his best seller, “Blood Land.” Those who have downloaded the kindle version of Blood Land, the cost for the audiobook is $1.99. For those who have never tried an audiobook I really encourage you to start with this one. I have read Blood Land more times than I can count but hearing it on audiobook was like reading it for the first time all over again. Through the narrator, Brad Langer’s voice, I was swept right into Sheriff Pruett’s town and life. I did mention Guthrie’s the busy writer – he’s getting ready to publish his third book in the series, Honor Land – which I’ll be featuring on a whole other blog when it “hits the stands” so keep watching for that. I’ve had the privilege of reading a portion of Honor Land and believe me, you’re going to want it so if you’re not on his mailing list – get on there now and you can be one of the first to know when it’s available.

Last snippet is that I am uber-excited to be going on a mini-vacation this year. My 21 year-old niece and I will be going to Las Vegas in a couple of months. It’ll be the first time for both of us to visit there, not to mention it’s been ages since I’ve been on an airplane and I love to fly, so I’m stoked. We’ll only be there for a few days and have a lot of sightseeing to cram in. We’re looking forward to seeing one of the Cirque du Soleil shows. She’s also looking forward to seeing “Bodies – The Exhibition”. And, NO, it’s not what you’re thinking. My niece is going to college and studying medicine. This is an exhibit where you can see the inner workings of muscles and organs. When she told me about it, my response was “Hmm, you go ahead, I think I’ll sit that one out”; but, then she said, “Look, you might be able to use it in one of your books.” Damn, she knows how to reel me in.

The stop-its:

Once I stopped putting everything ahead of my writing I learned that people can make do without me and I’m a happier person. I also stopped waiting until the last minute to wake up, leaving me with just enough time to get ready for my 9-5’er. Instead, the best part of my day now is getting up before dawn to open the curtains in my office and get on the computer to talk to friends, whilst watching for the sunrise, and, soon to follow, the birds and squirrels coming to the feeders.

The Snares:

I don’t have too many indulgences anymore. I’ve gotten away from watching a lot of tv – more Discovery and History channels, or, movies than anything else. Music is a passion and in the morning, can set the tone for my whole day. So, the snares? Well, I used to love playing games on the computer. There wasn’t a Tomb Raider game made that I didn’t play; then when I upgraded the computer and the games I had became outdated, I started playing the online games offered on Pogo. However, when writing took a more important role in my life, I canceled my membership. But, my guilty pleasure still remains in gaming. So, when my brain needs a break from a scene I’m writing? Well, if you ever played and enjoyed “Frogger,” you have to try the “Crossy Road” game app. It’s perfect for me since it’ll have me cussing within just a few minutes, my inability to keep my character alive. But those few minutes were exactly what I needed to get unfocused just enough to be able to come back to the scene I’m working on with a fresh eye.

2015, silhouette of a woman standing in the sunrise

My journey into being a published author is just beginning. I’m thrilled 2015 is finally here and everything it’s going to bring: One of my biggest dreams will become reality – and, I’m sure there’ll be a few surprises – I’m counting on it…I’ve learned that’s when you feel the most alive.

Let’s just hope through it all: my eyes will stay dry; my shoe laces stay tied; I’ll hit the bull’s eye; say more Hellos than Goodbyes; and, let’s not forget – fly the blue skies. Oh My!

This entry was posted in Books, eReader, Marketing, Publishing, R.S. Guthrie, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snippets, Stop-its, and Snares, Oh My!

  1. jdt1505 says:

    Hi Trish,

    First of all let me say how sorry I am to hear about the loss of your 15 year old Pug. I know what you’re going through because we went through it three times and it’s akin to losing a dear member of the family. Ours were like our children and I’m sure you felt the same way.

    On a lighter note, I’m happy that you’re close to publishing your novel and I wish you the very best, my friend. I’d be more than happy to review it if you need an extra person. I know how important it is.

    I finally finished tightening up “DOUBT”, (changed from A Scent of Danger),which two friends offered to read before I publish it.

    Keep in touch.

    Love & Hugs, Ellie

Leave a Reply

