One Author Plus One Author Equals?

As so often happens when I want some “quiet” time, I open up the iTunes program and let the music begin. Doesn’t make sense to you, you say? Well, for me at least, when I listen to good music it becomes only me. My attention is not diverted to a screen or box, the focus is on the inner self, my quiet thoughts, and what the music and/or lyrics is making me feel. Happy or mellow, the music can even dictate my mood. Maybe on the flip side, it enhances what I am going through at the moment – though you’ll never find me listening to the mournful “lost love” type of music. Michael Bolton, sorry, but I figured out “How (Am I Supposed) to Live Without You”. Good grief, like watching a tear-jerker on purpose, who wants to wallow in that? Please, give me a song that’s upbeat and makes me want to savor a good cup of coffee, or get up and do the happy dance. But I am getting off-topic…and for all the Michael Bolton fans, I do apologize. 

rock band silhouetteMusic is what influenced this blog, however, and that’s why I bring it up first. I was scrolling through my playlist and saw so many GREAT bands or duos. Collaborations of artists making memorable, iconic songs that will never fade away. Aerosmith, U2, Bon Jovi, Led Zeppelin, The Beatles, Casting Crowns, Van Halen, Journey, ZZ Top. The list goes on. True, some of the members of these bands did strike out on their own to pursue solo endeavors but when they were together as a band, it was magic. More common nowadays, and across all genres, you see solo artists’ songs on the charts with a “feat. (insert name of an equally well-known artist),” making them really not solo at all. You think Usher is good? Let Pitbull “feature” with him on a song and that song just went up a notch. 

But does that only happen in music – where more than one equals better? 

I wonder why you don’t see more authors collaborating on a book. You may see a “Foreword” penned by another author but to co-write a book? Not very often. One popular author who is noted to truly enjoy co-authoring is James Patterson who has said that “collaborating with others brings new and interesting ideas to his stories.” How’s that for a win-win.

Collaboration2

How many solo authors could benefit from joining with another, particularly when one author’s strength is in a different genre than the other. Think about it. The genres used to be simple: Romance, Mystery, Horror, Thriller, Suspense, Western – one genre, cut and dry. Not anymore. Genres, like music, have crossed over: Romance/Mystery, Horror/Thriller…in fact, I saw one the other day advertised as “Christian/Romance/Suspense.”

It’s not difficult to imagine that an author’s writing is not created equal. Me? My strength lies in the romantic arena. I couldn’t no more write a horror if my life depended on it…I take that back, I could write anything but outside of romance, it would probably suck. BUT I would definitely co-author in a horror genre and be proud of it, IF I were writing it with another author whose creative penchant for horror equaled mine for romance.

I know it’s not that easy – to partner with someone who you can collaborate with…peacefully and creatively. It takes trust, respect, the same work ethic and just as important: the same vision.

As you can guess, I’m in the middle of a work-in-progress with another author. The first time for both of us in co-writing a book. It wasn’t as hard as you would think for us to find that one-voice. We have all the ingredients in the partnership I mentioned above plus we are really great friends – completely simpatico in all areas and we’ve already talked about the next book we would like to write together.

coauthlogoDo you think you would benefit from partnering with another author? If you don’t have someone in mind, start now to put your feelers out, ask your author friend(s) – the one you respect; the one whose books you already love reading. That’s one of the things about authors…we all love reading the writing of those authors we most admire, or, who write similarly.

All authors, at least the ones who know how to market well, network. Like a child, and let’s face it: books are our babies, writing a book is only a fraction of what it takes to give it wings, it takes a village to sell a book. Heck, even before selling, an author has (or should have) utilized members of the community to even get it to the point of marketable, such as an editor, proofreader, beta reader(s), cover designer, etc. Imagine working with another author who has as much vested interest and love for the book as you.  

And, it’s not just for us. How about your readers? While you’re marketing your co-written book to your loyal readers, your co-author is enjoying the benefit of being introduced to more readers who may in the future become his/her loyal readers as well; and BAM…they are doing the same for you on their end. Reciprocity in this regard is definitely an added benefit.

Nothing is stopping you to continue to pursue a solo by-line but entertain adding another author to that by-line at some point. Believe me, when it works, it’s magic.

Never Enough Books

This entry was posted in Co-Author, Marketing, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Author Plus One Author Equals?

  1. I co-wrote a very short book with an author who was also a good friend some years ago. You’re right, we can find that one voice as well as the magic.

    • Gail Gentry says:

      Thanks, Malcolm, for the comment! So glad you found that magic, too :)) The experience is very rewarding. (And, I’m the same as you when it comes to proofing comments – the typos are always the easiest to find after you hit the send – got it covered for you 😉

Leave a Reply

