An Author Blog Chain

I have had the pleasure and honor of being tagged in an Author Blog Chain. You’ve probably seen a few going around. The only way to participate is firstly, be an author; and secondly, to have a blog. Okay, perhaps a little obvious there but above all, you must be invited by a fellow author who believes in your work, your blog and most importantly, YOU.

The one who thought enough of me to mention, tag, and keep the chain moving forward is the very talented, best-selling author, R.S. Guthrie. His blog RobOnWriting is one of the best around. Rob Guthrie Stock PhotoThe year has only started and he has already produced many insightful blogs covering everything from classic must-see movies, sports, marketing advice, and of course, indispensable writing advice. I can be totally honest that no matter what I’m doing (other than driving), when I see the notification that he has uploaded a blog, I will stop and read it. And …  I’m Never Disappointed. The post he was tagged in and answered the four questions I’m about to answer can be found on his blog under the same title “An Author Blog Chain.” 

His blog, though, isn’t the only place you should be reading his writing. R.S. Guthrie delivers the goods when it comes to telling a story. I have read and loved each one of his books. From his Mystery/Thriller series, pick up Blood Land and Money Land; from his Horror/Thriller Trilogy: Black Beast, LOST and Reckoning; and, to anyone reading this who writes, his non-fiction book on writing, INK: Eight Rules To A Better Book is THE book you want to keep handy and refer to before each and every book you publish. His latest release is a short story found within the pages of Eight The Hard Way, an Anthology of Short Stories from eight best-selling Mystery/Thriller writers. The short story, entitled “Veritas: Concubine,” is an introduction to the main character of what will be a litany of upcoming “Veritas” novellas. The chatter has already begun surrounding this exciting storyline.

Getting back to the blog chain – this chain is a little different from the others. Rather than the emphasis be on promoting and supporting other authors, which I think I can safely say is the one thing all of the authors tagged within this chain have in common, you instead blog about yourself for a change. The answers to the questions propounded are to provide you, the reader, a look into what is going on with me. I hope you enjoy reading the answers as much as I enjoyed writing them!

1.  What are you currently working on?

Right now I’m working alongside two other authors on a writing project. When time allows me to put that aside, I go back to my own novel in progress, a contemporary romance. Yes, it’s coming along slowly, but I believe in first impressions and since this will be my first published piece – when it is released, I want it to be a work I’m proud of and not something thrown out just to say “I’m published.” Unfortunately, I see a lot of authors do just that or skip important steps such as having it edited or proofread. I don’t want my first book remembered for what was wrong with it but what was right. 

2.  How does your work differ from others in the same genre?

Although I love reading historial romance and western romance, I’m writing a contemporary romance set in a major, central U.S., city. This romance and all the others I plan on writing, I believe, will be different in that each story could be true, not just exist in fantasy. Writing a story this way, for me, makes the characters more alive and their emotions more real. When they laugh, I laugh; when they applaud, I applaud; when they make love, my heart is racing right with them; and, when their heart breaks, so does mine. I write to make my readers not only read the story, but live the story with their own emotions.

3.  Why do you write what you write?

I have always had a vivid imagination. When I was younger, my daydreams wound around being a key player in an action scenario or a singer in a rock band. As I got older, they matured to seeking that one true love. The characters and the stories just come to me…usually random thoughts where some begin and end just as a “what-if” where others will stretch out to form a beginning, middle, and end. I’m one of those people, too, where I dream stories. One of the stories out of those dreams is set to become a Mystery/Thriller trilogy which I have already asked an author friend to co-write with me. But all of them, no matter how they come to me, manifest inside my heart and soul and telling them is a release and makes room for more. 

4.  How does your writing process work?

That’s a toughie. Unless there is some outside stress going on in my life, the muse is only a keystroke away. However, I am a horrible procrastinator. The upside to that trait? I’m great under pressure or a deadline. Right now, being the novice that I am, I will write a thousand or so words and then go back and hone it. One day, hopefully sooner than later, I hope to be able to write a good portion of a book before I go back to hone it, much like I do when I write a blog or short story. That’s my goal and one which I will attain some day. The two books I’m working on right now are just the beginning.

So that’s a little insight into me and where I’m at professionally. Now to the other fun part of the blog. I get to nominate and tag one, or two, or three of the authors I admire to let them answer these same questions and give you a peek into what’s coming up for them. One of the first authors I really think of when it comes to talent and marketing and all-around great personality is Charity Parkerson. Thankfully when I asked, she accepted and, since the other two didn’t get back to me in time, I get to toot her horn a little louder and give her my blog’s undivided attention.

CHARITY PARKERSON

Her official bio: Charity Parkerson is an award winning and multi-published author with Ellora’s Cave Publishing, Midnight Books, and Punk & Sissy Publications. Born with no filter from her brain to her mouth, she decided to take this odd quirk and insert it in her characters.

Charity Parkerson

*2013 Readers’ Favorite Award Winner
*2013 Reviewers’ Choice Award Winner
*ARRA Finalist for Favorite Paranormal Romance
*Five-time winner of The Mistress of the Darkpath
*Named one of the top 10 best books by an Indie author in 2011- Paranormal Reads Reviews
*Best Paranormal Romance of 2012- Paranormal Reads Reviews
*Quoted in the Sydney Morning Herald as an authority on Independent Publishing.

From my personal experience with her, I can tell you she is one of the most friendly, accessible authors on Twitter and Facebook. Her support of other authors is phenomenal. I first noticed her wit and informative tweets on Twitter several years ago and later listened to that same wit and delightful interviews of other authors in her weekly podcasts from The Melissa Craig and Charity Parkerson Show. Her blog, The Sinner Author, usually will feature either a review from a book or an author interview. How she keeps up with that all that and churns out her romance books, must be true discipline. She deserves the awards she has received. She is a GREAT storyteller. None are your typical romance, some are laced with paranormal, some are mysteries, and most, if not all, are interspersed with her tasteful and classy writing of the erotica. If you haven’t read any of her works before, go to Amazon now. Her books are available in ebook, paperback, and her most recent, also in audio audible edition. There are over twenty books to choose from and you can view and make selection(s) from her Author Page on Amazon.

To connect with Charity Parkerson online visit:

Website: http://www.charityparkerson.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorCharityParkerson
http://www.facebook.com/TheMenofSin
Twitterhttp://www.twitter.com/CharityParkerso                                        Blog: http://charity-thesinners.blogspot.com

Charity Parkerson will be continuing the blog chain with her own post on or around March 3rd. Don’t forget to visit and see who will be next in line.

This entry was posted in Books, Charity Parkerson, Interview, R.S. Guthrie, Reading, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Author Blog Chain

  1. authorcharity says:

    Awww! Thank you so much 😀 ❤

  2. Pingback: An Author Blog Chain | We write so that we don't talk to ourselves

Leave a Reply

