An Independence Day of Another Kind

Since the 4th of July is coming up this week, I was thinking about the term Independence Day and what it means to fight for your freedom.

One of the coolest movies ever was “Independence Day” starring Will Smith, and one of the best moments in that movie was the speech given by the President, played by Bill Pullman:

“In less than an hour, aircraft from here will join others from around the world. And you will be launching the largest aerial battle in the history of mankind.

independence-day-movieMankind — that word should have new meaning for all of us today.

We can’t be consumed by our petty differences anymore.

We will be united in our common interests.

Perhaps its fate that today is the 4th of July, and you will once again be fighting for our freedom, not from tyranny, oppression, or persecution — but from annihilation.

We’re fighting for our right to live, to exist.

And should we win the day, the 4th of July will no longer be known as an American holiday, but as the day when the world declared in one voice:

We will not go quietly into the night!

We will not vanish without a fight!

We’re going to live on!

We’re going to survive!”

Today, we celebrate our Independence Day!”

A great speech executed by Bill Pullman so flawlessly it gives me the goosebumps every time I watch it.

In the movie, while the term “Independence Day” referred to the human race fighting and overcoming an invasion of aliens threatening to take over our planet, today, I’m speaking on an invasion of another kind and on a more personal level. 

If someone were to ask you, what would YOU like to declare your independence from, what would it be? We all have something in our life that holds us back, invades our thoughts and the way we act. Whether it be something that manifests inside of us: a fear of the unknown, a lack of confidence in ourselves, or the way we look; something external: our environment, the neighborhood we live in, the job we have; or, bringing it in closer: the naysayers or the “none”sayers (those that give little or no support) in our family – mother, father, brother, sister, boyfriend/girlfriend, husband/wife, close friends.

Most everyone has some fear, insecurity, or someone they feel holds them back and keeps them from attaining the goals or happiness only visited in their dreams. But, let’s face it – truly, isn’t the only one really holding a person back is that person themselves? Forget the fear, the insecurity, the external, forget the family members and friends – bottom line, it’s ourselves, plain and simple. No one really cares what we look like, and, if they do, they’re not someone that should be in our lives; there is nothing to hold us in the city we live, or that job; and, nothing that makes us stay with that family member(s) or be around those friends except us. We, you and I, make those calls. We possess that liberty and that freedom, thanks in no small part to the forefathers of this country.

Respect Yourself

This post is for you, but it’s for me, too. I’m just as guilty as the next person of holding myself back. I stayed in a couple of relationships longer than I should have; and, the rest … well, I use to attribute it to simple procrastination – things I knew I needed to change but put off until tomorrow until I realized the reason for the procrastination was fear and insecurity.

If I never start to change, I can never fail at what I wish to change. I was reminded of this when I spoke with an author friend last week and made the comment “Failure is a word used only for those who quit.” I should have added: “And, Failure is a word used by others about those who never begin.”

Every year on January 1st, a huge number of people make resolutions. They prepare a list, written or mental, on what they want to change about themselves. I’ve never known it to work.

So, this July 4th, rather than waiting for the next January 1st to roll around, again finding yourself resolving to make the same changes made the previous year, I’d like to make this Independence Day as a day you will fight for your freedom against whatever it is holding you back from becoming that person you know you were meant to be.

Do not go quietly into the night!

Do not vanish without a fight!

You’re going to live on!

You’re going to survive!”

Today, celebrate YOUR Independence Day!

Motivation

 

This entry was posted in Motivation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Independence Day of Another Kind

  1. As always, a great blog. But this one is of the occasional gem variety; one that shines a tad more brilliantly than the rest. Everyone needs to read this one and take a moment to reflect. Thanks for making my morning, my friend. You are a craftswoman with a gift for life.

    • Gail Gentry says:

      Thank you so much for the kind words. When the blog is done and I hit publish, I’m “satisfied.” To know that it made a difference, sends me to the moon. 🙂

  2. Damyanti says:

    Lovely. Thanks for writing this. Sharing.

  3. Gail Gentry says:

    I’m so glad you liked it, Damyanti. Thank you for leaving me a note to let me know AND thank you for the sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

