The Next BIG Thing. Me!

TheNextBigThing_640-300x216This blog is a first for me in several ways. Although I’ve been nominated before for awards and blogged about it; and, participated in a blog tour, I have never been on a blog train. The Next Big Thing blog train began and has gained wide attention, with its purpose being to highlight new authors and/or new books – both just published or, to-be published.

I fall in the latter category. Which brings me to the next “first” for me. In all the blogs I have written, I’ve never ever talked about my personal work-in-progress. Actually, only a few close friends know the details. So, I’m treading on new territory. Thankfully, this blog train comes with its own preset questions. Otherwise, I would have no idea where to start.

Before I go one step further, though, I have to thank my good friend, R.S. Guthrie, for thinking of me in conjunction with this idea. I have always looked up to him – as a writer and a mentor – and am humbled in the fact he believes in me enough to give me that nudge to stretch beyond my comfort zone. If you haven’t already, check out R.S. Guthrie’s latest release Reckoning. Reckoning is the third and final story in The Bobby Mac Thriller Trilogy and my blog about Reckoning says it all. 

So, here I am, giving you a glimpse and sharing my idea, my baby, for the first time:

 What is the working title of your next book?

In Our Own Time

Time2

What genre does your book fall under?

Contemporary Romance – but, expect some pretty heavy love scenes in there as well. In other words, brace yourself.

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Hmmm. Well, when I actually came up with the idea of the book, I was going through a Kellan Lutz fan(tasy)-phase. I still think he would be ideal, physically, as the male lead, with Charlize Theron making the perfect female lead. That pairing would be hot!

 What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

One sentence?! For a writer??!! Holy Cow – well here goes: “You will follow the lives of Charlene Forrester, a woman who long ago turned her back on romantic love, and Dillon Samuels, who has become bitter and hardened from the women who only want one thing from him; and, when both lives collide, they must each face their demons and do the one thing they’ve never done before – trust in love.”

 Who is publishing your book?

 I’ve decided to self-publish. I like the idea of having total control.

 How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

I haven’t finished it yet. The idea came to me actually about two and a half years ago but at the time I was working on another book. This story, though, kept coming to the forefront of my thoughts and calling to be written NOW. So, I shelved that other book, and plan on co-writing it with another author at a later date. I admit it has taken a long time to get where I am now but it’s only because I’ve been honing my style and taking the time to develop a platform of followers and friends so that when the book is released, the groundwork has already been laid for it to be noticed.

 What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

 I think each book is unique and there is no comparison from one to another. However, the other authors I have been attracted to are Judith McNaught and Diana Gabaldon. Not necessarily in their style of writing but their way of being able to pull you in to the story and make you care about and be a part of the character’s lives.

 Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I have such a vivid, romantic imagination. I am always thinking of different scenarios for love stories. Any object or thing can spark an idea. I have mountains of notes stashed away and a dozen notebooks filled with ideas and short stories going back twenty years. Actually getting into the writing community on Twitter and with the self-publishing field opening up, I knew the time had come to stretch my wings and fly.

What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

The main characters are not your stereotypical couple and if I say much more than that, I will be revealing a major twist – so, you’ll have to buy the book to find out.

Also, I am excited to add that In Our Own Time is just the first in what will be a four-part series.

~~ 

I hope I have said enough to entice you and provide some anticipation for its release which I expect to be toward the end of this year. I don’t want to set a certain date – I’ll let it go  when I’ve made it all it can be.

Watch for this blog train to continue with Harry Widdifield on May 30. He’s got a book due out June 1 that will be both inspiring, motivational, and written from his heart with the goal of touching yours. 

 Never Enough Books

Hourglass Image credit: vasabii / 123RF Stock Photo

This entry was posted in Books, Interview, Reading, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Next BIG Thing. Me!

  1. jlgentry says:

    It is absolutely fantastic to hear that you’re nearing the completion point. I like that you are going to maintain control of your product. What I am discovering is that the successful self publishers are the one who approach their craft as an entrepreneur. They focus on the foundational elements as much or more as the actual writing craft itself. I love how you have developed your blogs and your brand. You are hitting all the right keys on the keyboard with a keen line of sight. Now, I just want to read your work and be able to tell all my friends and followers about this other Gentry who is kickass with words!

    jlg

  2. You know there’s no one in more dire anticipation than me! Great answers, thanks for participating, now finish that bestseller!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

