RECKONING, Newest Release from Author R.S. Guthrie. He Saved The Best For Last.

It’s a joy to once again come on here and talk about another book published by R.S. Guthrie. Reckoning, the last book in the Detective Bobby Mac Thrillers Trilogy has arrived to take its rightful place in this outstanding series.

RECKONING_COVERv4x2000 (2)

I have to be up front and tell you that I’ve gotten spoiled reading R.S. Guthrie’s books. When I entered the Indie/self-publishing, field, Guthrie had just published his first book in the series, Black Beast. The talk began right away about him – what a stand-out talent he possessed, and there were predictions that it wouldn’t be long before this new artist began landing on the best-selling lists. (Which predictions, by the way, are no longer predictions, but is now fact.)  So, given all the good things I was hearing about Guthrie, peaking my curiosity, and even though I am mainly a romance reader, not necessarily a mystery/thriller reader, I stepped away from my reading comfort zone to find out what made this writer different from the others.

Now, before I go on, you have to take into account there is a reason I am more of a romance reader, and author, than a mystery/thriller reader. I’m a wuss. I don’t like the dark. I don’t like scary things. I don’t watch scary movies. It’s somewhat embarrassing to admit, but even “Gremlins” gave me nightmares, okay? And that’s all I’m going to say about that lest I start remembering too many details from that movie.

But, even with that said, I steeled myself; turned on all the lights; had calming music playing in the background; and, I began reading Black Beast.

1504882_sBefore I knew it, it was the wee hours of the morning. The Bose long turned off to rid myself of any distractions and I was HOOKED! Sure, I felt all the emotions you’re supposed to feel reading a mystery/thriller and all the emotions R.S. Guthrie wanted me to feel: Tension, excitement, anticipation, sorrow, humor. He had me guessing, clamoring, and, sometimes hesitating to turn the page to find out what was in store next. 

The next book in the Bobby Mac Thriller Trilogy, LOST, was published and again I couldn’t wait to read it. Another Mystery/Thriller. I mentioned I had been spoiled reading R.S. Guthrie’s books. It wasn’t that I was converted to that genre but I had become such a fan of the way it was written. The way Guthrie writes. Whether he’s writing in the Bobby Mac Detective Thriller Series; the James Pruett Mystery Series; his non-fiction book, INK: Eight Rules to a Better Book; or, his blog, RobOnWriting. He is really a true wordsmith, SHOWING the story rather than telling; weaving the tale in such a way that you are there, seeing the setting, hearing the dialogue, an observer as the story is revealed a layer at a time. In the case of INK, it’s been compared to the feeling of sitting across the kitchen table from him, enjoying a cup of coffee, and discussing the craft of writing. The same is said of reading RobOnWriting. I can go on and on but, I’d rather you find out for yourself why I feel the way I do.

Black Beast and LOST are just the tip of the iceberg. The other books he has published in the James Pruett Mystery Series: Blood Land and Money Land, are written in another voice – equally as impressive and just as captivating.

With Reckoning, I left the following review on Amazon:

Just when I think I can recognize the writing of R.S. Guthrie, he surprises me once again. He has become a chameleon in styles of writing. Each time finding a new way to entrance me with his story. I have read all of his books, most recent of his releases: Blood Land and Money Land. His writing in that series is melodious, deep, driving you ever forward within the pages of his imagination. Then along comes Reckoning, the third and last in the Detective Bobby Mac Thrillers Trilogy.

Click to Look Inside ReckoningI have no other word than “mesmerizing” to describe his writing style in Reckoning. Denver Detective Bobby “Mac” Macaulay has been thrust into a battle between the forces of Good and Evil, not by his choosing but a path that has been preordained by his lineage. Black Beast where it all began, LOST where the unthinkable happened, and now Reckoning where, as Bobby Mac declares, “this is where it all ends.” R.S. Guthrie writes with an edge and stays close to the police officer’s vest in telling it from a detective’s point-of-view in this easy-to-believe, could-really-happen, tale.

I’m sure from the male reader’s perspective, Bobby Mac comes off as a man’s man: hard, walking that sometimes obscure line between justice and fairness, dishing out better than he gets; I can tell you with certainty that from the female reader’s perspective, Bobby Mac comes off as not only that true man’s man, with bravado, intelligence, tenderness, and loyalty, but also with a healthy dose of sexissimo.

From the first page you are placed into a scene filled with tension and fear, a place none of us want to ever be; you are led into a maze filled with twists and turns, a behind the scenes look at how a serial killer is profiled, hunted down, or…is the serial killer the one doing the hunting? R.S. Guthrie kept me guessing, never allowing me to figure out completely what was coming next – perhaps, you think, you have a suspicion – but you’ll never be right. That is one consistency with this author, he NEVER lets you see what’s beyond the bend in the curve until he’s ready.

The ending is brilliant and, contrary to a great number of books, the Epilogue wraps it all up and leaves you breathless with the last line. You can’t imagine it turning out any better or being told in a more masterful way.

From Reckoning: “A reckoning is nothing less than a demand for the balancing of the scales of truth.” Today, as I turned the last page, I found I had a payment of truth of my own due: That I sincerely hope R.S. Guthrie decides to continue to write more books with the Bobby Mac character. Life just wouldn’t be the same without Bobby Mac in it, or the hope that someone like him could exist.

R.S. Guthrie is now deep into his third book in the James Pruett Mystery Series,  entitled “Honor Land”. I am so looking forward to getting my hands on it. In the meantime, I was able to catch up with him and, when asked for a comment on the trilogy’s final book, Guthrie had this to say: “Being the first book I published (Black Beast), this character has been close to my heart. This third book is the best of them all, I have no doubt about that. Fans of Detective Bobby Mac and the series will not be disappointed!”

If you want a behind-the-scenes look at how Reckoning and the series came into existence, visit RobonWriting for some interesting never-before-known details. You won’t be disappointed.

OneDimensionalPosterx1500

Last, although each book could stand on its own merits, as with any continuing saga, you’ll want to start from the beginning. Now that the Detective Bobby Mac Thrillers Trilogy is complete, R.S. Guthrie has combined all three books into one boxed set. So, if you haven’t begun the series, you can get all three now for less than the price of downloading them individually. If you still like the feel of a book or don’t own an eBook reader, he also has all his books available in paperback including Black Beast and LOST, with Reckoning soon to follow.

For your convenience, a summary for each book follows:

BLACK-BEAST-COVER-2011-3x750BLACK BEAST:

Decorated Denver Detective Bobby Macaulay has faced down a truckload of tragedy over recent years. The death of his partner; the loss of his own leg in the line of duty; the companionship of his beloved wife to cancer; his faith in God to his inner demons.

After the man who ruined his leg and killed his first partner is executed, Macaulay becomes the lead detective investigating the Sloan’s Lake murders. The method of killing in this double-homicide is so heinous it leads Macaulay and his partner down an ever-darkening path–one that must be traversed if they are to discover the evil forces behind the slaughter.

Just when Bobby Macaulay is questioning the very career that has been his salvation, he will discover a heroic history buried within his own family roots: The Clan MacAulay–a deep family lineage of protectors at the very core of a millenniums-long war against unimaginable evil.

“Black Beast” is the first in a series of “Detective Bobby Mac Thriller” novels–a stellar first outing for new author R.S. Guthrie. The book is a page-turner that avoids meandering, written with tight prose that keeps the action flowing. The reader is taken inside the heart and mind of a common hero who will make you believe in good again–Macaulay is a believable, flawed character with whom each of us can relate and for whom each of us will cheer.

L O S TLOST

LOST is the sequel to Black Beast, the ★★★★★ debut novel in the Detective Bobby Mac Thriller series.

Denver Detective Bobby Mac returns in this intense horror/thriller, set in the northern panhandle wilderness of Idaho. After receiving a phone call from his brother, the Chief of Police in Rocky Gap, Idaho, Bobby Mac travels north to assist in the investigation surrounding two gruesome murders and the abduction of an eleven-year-old girl.

These two seasoned cops—estranged brothers reunited—will bring all of their experience to bear in a case that threatens not only the safety of a small town, but also the sacred lineage of a family of heroes.

RECKONING_COVERv4x2000 (2)RECKONING:

Reckoning is the third book in the Detective Bobby Mac Thriller series, returning Detective Bobby Mac to the streets of Denver. It’s been ten years since facing the loss of his brother, Jax, but Mac has a new life now with his wife and daughters.

When a series of murders grips the city in terror, Mac joins an inter-agency task force charged with bringing the Judas Killer to justice.

After eight murders over the course of a year and the task force being no closer than when they began, events take a brutally personal turn. Detective Mac will come face-to-face with a past he’s been running from for over a decade.

Once again in a gritty cop-drama twisted with a bit of the paranormal, the storytelling that has been compared to a mixture of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke, Michael Connelly, and Dean Koontz, R.S. Guthrie brings you his best Bobby Mac book yet. Reckoning will bring the trilogy of books together for a finale that will have you riding the edge of your seat and your jaw on the floor.

~~~

Thanks for reading this post. If you’re still unsure, and would like a try before you buy, when you click on any of the links to the books I’ve provided here, there is a “Click to Look Inside” button on each book’s page where you can preview, for free, a generous excerpt.

Rob Author Pic

R.S. Guthrie

Bookworm Image credit: bratan / 123RF Stock Photo

This entry was posted in Books, Interview, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RECKONING, Newest Release from Author R.S. Guthrie. He Saved The Best For Last.

  1. I am humbled by your gracious, flattering post. Speechless is a strange thing for me, or rather, wordless. Thank you so much. When I read something like this, it makes it all worthwhile because I write FOR the reader. I want the reader to have the experience I used to have reading, when books had me calling in sick to the job or skipping class because I just had to finish. Your commentary—your complimentary words—tell me that I am getting the job done. From the bottom of my heart, thank you. And yes, for a writer, as you well know, THAT is speechless. 😉

  2. Pingback: The Next BIG Thing. Me! | ChickletsLit

Leave a Reply

