Newly Published Author MaryAnn Kempher, Speaks About Mocha, Moonlight and Murder.

MaryAnnKempherI’m pleased to host today MaryAnn Kempher. She’s sweet, a super friend, mother, wife, travelled, a former U.S. servicemember …. and now, Published Author can be added to her list of achievements. MaryAnn was one of the first “tweeps” I met on Twitter. She and I had several things in common, the highlight of that being she and I were both working on our first novel.

MaryAnn has gone the extra mile – she’s attended writer’s conventions, travelled to New York City and met with other professionals in the industry. She’s done her homework and now all her hard work has paid off. Her first book, Mocha, Moonlight and Murder has just hit Amazon and is ready for your enjoyment.

In addition to her providing a breakdown of the storyline, I posed a few questions to give me, and you, a little more insight into MaryAnn Kempher and Mocha, Moonlight and Murder. I hope you enjoy her answers as much as I did.

First, a little bit of background on MaryAnn Kempher:

My family moved to Reno NV, where Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder is set when I was 15. I currently live in Florida with my husband and two children, two dogs and one cat. My favorite authors are Jane Austen and Agatha Christie. My guilty pleasures include any and all sweets. I love all cake, cookies, brownies, and of course a grande Café Mocha.

Mocha MoonlightMy book, Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder is a romantic suspense. It will appeal to romance lovers, because Scott and Katherine (eventually) have such a fantastic friendship that blossoms into something more. They really like each other and the reader will really like them. It will also appeal to readers who love a good mystery; a woman is brutally murdered three blocks from Katherine’s home. She sees the killer as he’s preparing to dispose of the women’s body, but manages to out run him. He finds out who she is and starts stalking her.

The book sounds like you have a little bit for everyone! When did the storyline for the Mocha, Moonlight and Murder hit you?

The story just kept evolving. It was going one way, and somehow ended up going a different way. I’m told there are two different kinds of writers; the plotter and the pantser. The plotter, knows everything before he/she starts writing. They might have a lot of notes or notecards etc… a pantser just sits down with a general idea of what they want to write and starts writing.  That’s me. I’m not saying either method is better than the other, whatever works best for you.

What’s your favorite quote from Mocha, Moonlight and Murder?

Katherine asks Scott, “If I die, will you come to my funeral?” Scott responds, “Will there be food there?”

Also, on a different day,

Katherine says she’ll see Scott later, he responds that he’ll be counting the hours, to which she responds, “Oh yeah, like you can count.”

The point is, they are friends first, and friends give each other a hard time. But, they’re just joking with each other and when you’re reading these lines, you know they’re joking.

You’re sitting in your favorite coffee house and Det. Nolan walks in and has a seat beside you. What would you most want to talk to him about?

Detective Nolan, what a great guy I imagine him to be. I’d probably just ask him how the wife and kids are, or maybe I’d ask him if he minds working with Detective Spencer.

What was the first story about that you ever wrote?

I wrote about an old man living alone in a secluded cabin in the woods. He’s awakened in the middle of the night and taken up/into a spaceship. The next day he’s convinced it was all a dream until he sees the muddy boots on the porch. I was twelve.

Do you have a favorite all-time book or author which has had an influence on you as a writer?

I have two favorite authors. Jane Austen and Agatha Christie. Jane influences my dialogue, and Agatha influences the suspense/mystery aspect of my writing. My favorite book is Pride and Prejudice.

What piece of advice would you have given Scott Mitchell about your lead character, Katherine O’Brian, prior to their first meeting?

Prior to their first meeting? Hmm, that’s a good question. I might have told him that she can come off as a real bitch sometimes, but that she’s not. That she’s just very clever and doesn’t take crap from anybody, even hot guys.

This is your first published book, how did you celebrate its release?

My family and I went out to dinner.

What was the hardest part of writing Mocha, Moonlight and Murder?

Finishing it. There are always tons of distractions.

When you write do you enjoy quiet or noise; are you organized or is it organized chaos?

I can write with noise as long as it’s background noise. For instance, I wrote some of my book in the café at a local Barnes and Noble, which was very noisy. However, I prefer to write at home while the kids are in school and the house is quiet.

What does the writing future hold for MaryAnn Kempher?

I’m working on book two right now. It’s not a sequel, but will have cameo appearances of some familiar characters from book one.

Thanks, MaryAnn!

Mocha, Moonlight, and Murder can be purchased online through Amazon and Barnes and Noble, where you can also read an excerpt from Mocha, Moonlight and Murder.

Follow MaryAnn Kempher on Twitter

And, visit her website at http://mkempher.com

Never Enough Books

This entry was posted in Interview and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Newly Published Author MaryAnn Kempher, Speaks About Mocha, Moonlight and Murder.

  1. Jeanette says:

    I couldn’t put the book down. Loved it! Wait to go Mary Ann. Can’t wait for your next book.

  2. Hi Jeanette! So glad you liked the book. Tweet me and let me know who your favorite character was. 🙂

Leave a Reply

