I Triple Dog Dare You to Share….

Sharing.  We start out as kids being taught to share our toys – to take our turns at the swing set.  As we get older, for some people – the light turns off and they become It’s all about me; other’s find no joy in life unless they share to give back; and still others will share to the point of self-sacrifice.

Sharing can come in many forms.  From sharing rides to work to donating food or time at the homeless  shelter; from giving a hug to the despondent to cheering for your child’s team at the soccer game; from telling a neighbor how great their yard looks to shoveling the snow from their driveway in the wintertime; from speaking words of encouragement and offering sage advice to sitting with a listening ear and a nod of the head.  As writers we share our imagination, thoughts and ideas. We do so not knowing whether we will receive monetary gain – we just know we have to share.  Sharing in whatever form, when given, is done with joy.

Unless you are one of the It’s all about me people, everyone has a charity.  My favorite charity is Dream Foundation.  It’s an organization that strives to provide a dying wish to terminally ill adults, much like Make a Wish for children. Personally, I can’t imagine anything worse than having an unfulfilled dying wish.  I make donations to them annually and once I become a published author, I hope to donate a part of my earnings (if any of my books sell, that is) to that Foundation.  I have learned of a great group founded by best-selling author R. S. Guthrie, called RABMAD (Read A Book, Make A Difference). If you are an author and a sharer, I would encourage you to check RABMAD out.  R. S. Guthrie has put this organization together where an author pledges to donate a part of their earnings to a charity of their choice. RABMAD isn’t a cause in and of itself (i.e. there’s no money involved, passing through the site, etc.). It’s just a place where authors who want to give back go to promote likeminded authors that want to give back to a cause near and dear to them. The who, what, where, how, etc. is all up to the author—the site is just where you go to promote the compassion.  It’s an excellent way to learn about other charities and to give (donate) and receive (a great book) all at the same time.

Sharing can take on a whole new meaning when you are talking “virtual”.  Some of the biggest social networks have been born with the thought of sharing.  MySpace, FaceBook, Twitter, Triberr.  Each have evolved from the other and its users have evolved with them and actually it has come from the users’ need to share that the social networks leapt forward to the next step.

With FaceBook, the messages, pictures and quotes you see on another’s page, you can “Share” on your page; form a Group to pull people of likeminded interests together to share information; or, keep track of alumni and schoolmates from high school and college.  I was contacted by a high school classmate a couple of years ago that I had often wondered what had happened to her after high school.  She found me through FaceBook.  Had I not been on there to share my information, we never would have been able to renew our friendship.

Twitter?  If you are into sharing socially and virtually, you have got to be on Twitter.  I have found more information, more news, more help, more community, more friends on Twitter (and I don’t mean acquaintances, I mean Friends) than at any other place or time.  Get on Twitter, Follow and watch the sharing unfold on the timeline.  I’ve seen headline news hit faster on Twitter than on CNN.

With Triberr, anyone with a Blog can join.  Kudos to Dan Cristo and Dino Dogan, the founders of Triberr.  They have created a way for your blog to be shared with literally hundreds of thousands of people. Triberr is one of the reasons I started this blog.  If you are a writer, have a blog but are not a member of Triberr, contact me.  I’ll give you some details and try to steer you into a tribe.

It seems the next big online sharing will be, or is, Pinterest.  A feast lies in wait for the visual appetite.  What will be next is anyone’s guess.

Bottom line, to share is to care and it makes you a better person.  So get out there today and share a smile or a hug – make some type of contribution.  You never know what kind of path the other person has had to walk on, and what you share could make a difference which direction at the next fork in their road they take.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Triple Dog Dare You to Share….

  1. R.S. Guthrie says:

    As usual, another thought-provoking, heart-challenging blog (and not just because you mentioned RABMAD, which is only a showcase for some mighty cool and generous authors). I love how you tied in both sharing of our own
    Information (social networks) AND how we, as authors, share of our deepest selves when we put our words out there.

    Lastly, I have to tell you, “triple dog dare you” is one of my favorites, “A Christmas Story” Having clearly cemented that childhood favorite in glory forever!

    GREAT post. 🙂

    • Thank you, Rob. I always feel like I hit a home run with my blog when you comment. I’ve been wanting to use “triple dog dare you” forever and finally found a place to fit it in. That’s definitely a must-see movie each year. I’m looking forward to the day I can join RABMAD to help make a difference. You certainly have done yourself proud forming such a inspiring organization.

  2. Dino Dogan says:

    thnx for mentioning Triberr 🙂

    It’s counter intuitive, but sharing benefits you 10 fold. And seeing how generosity pays off online might even prompt few people to try it in real life. And thats a real change-revolution as far as Im concerned.

  3. Thanks, Dino. I appreciate the time you took to stop in and comment 🙂 You are exactly right. Any sharing comes back ten fold. I’m all for paying it forward and know you do it each day with Triberr and all the other brainstorming you do to make our lives better. You’ve certainly helped change the direction some people have taken in the forks in their road, mine included, and am so thankful for you and Dan. You deserve all the riches and blessings that come your way 😀

  4. You have inspired me Trish. I will have to look into it. 🙂

  5. angelaackerman says:

    Great post–sharing really is so important and fosters a sense of community. It’s a big world, and too many feel alone in it. Sharing, online and off, is how we succeed together through support and knowledge sharing. 🙂

    • Very well said, Angela. I couldn’t agree more. You’ve done some wonderful sharing yourself with your blog, The Bookshelf Muse. I am so glad you finally put it all in a book which I have downloaded on to my Kindle. 😀

Leave a Reply

