OH BABY, YOU MAKE ME FEEL SO GOOD!

There’s nothing like it.  The hard, smooth, feel beneath my fingertips, the way it pumps up and down when I press on it.  It does exactly what I want whether I press on it with a whisper of gentleness or with enough force to show who’s boss in this relationship.  And when I see before my eyes how much it grows when I keep touching it, it transports me to another world.  That’s right, just like that – night after glorious night.

And I bet it does the same for you.

You want to know what it is that makes me feel so good?  Lean in a little closer and I’ll tell you.  It belongs to me and only me.  {{sigh}}  My keyboard.  All writers have a love affair with it.

I push my fingers down on the keys and letters become words, and those words when strung together have the ability to produce tears or laughter; they can be manipulated to strike fear and make a heart beat faster; entangled to create frustration; or, become entwined to solicit a climax.  I love being a writer.  I love that I can put words together and evoke those feelings in my characters and, hopefully, my readers.

Writers.  We come in all forms.  Songwriters make us sing every day, either out loud or in our hearts; journalists give us news to make us more aware; screenwriters sit beside us in the movies or on our couch while we watch through film what they have put to paper; nonfiction writers can add to our knowledge through academia, keep us from repeating mistakes through historical accounts, or showcase those living or dead through biographies; and last, but certainly not least, my favorite, the fiction writers – the novelists.

No matter what genre a writer has a gift for, all of us are joined at the hip by one thing – a deep down to-the-soul need to write.  I liken the feeling I get to the endorphins joggers experience after a long run.  For some reason I do my best writing at night and the later the better.  It is nothing for me to stay up until 3:00 in the morning engrossed in writing a blog, such as I’m doing now, and wonder where the time went when I look at the clock.  And talk about stress relief!  I was venting to a great friend, who also happens to be an author, about an incident that happened at my day job.  I told him, I needed to go home and write.  Nothing is more calming to me than to sit at the keyboard and create. I lose myself.  It could be working on my book or my blog or simply a long email.  Whatever I write, oh baby, it’s going to make me feel so good.  My friend understood because he’s the same way.  That’s just how we are.

It’s the best therapy in the world.  I had a really bad experience in a relationship some nine years ago.  It did not end well.  To get through it, I wrote it down.  Everything I wish I would have said, pen met paper.  Page after page of the anger and hurt I felt was translated into words, and, when I was done, I literally burned it.  Watched it go up in flames.  It was extremely cathartic.  I doubt that had I not been a writer, I would have had the wherewithal to get that release in such a clean, non-violent manner.  {cue psycho music}}  And, you know what they say, right?  Never piss off a writer because sure enough you’re going to be the a**hole in their next book.  Yup.

So, readers, next time you sit down with a book, experience an emotion from the written words, know that us writers experienced the same thing writing it and so much more.  Yea, we might say we toil and sweat and want to tear our hair out when we write – and it’s true, we do – but we wouldn’t have it any other way.  No matter what happens to me in the future, I will write.  Somehow, someway.  It’s a part of me that will only die when I breathe my last breath.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to OH BABY, YOU MAKE ME FEEL SO GOOD!

  1. jody winter says:

    Again awesome work.

  2. Trish, I thought I was going to have to slap the “For Mature Audiences, Only” tag on you. Really good. I am now keenly and acutely aware of how my fingers feel on this keyboard. Love it.

  3. Loved this post! =)

    I do my best writing at night too… or at least the most of it. Even if I start writing early, I tend to not get much done until after midnight.

    • Why is that, you think? I’ve always been a night owl – it may be just that the house is quiet, no television, no phone, and the internet static is at a low hum. Thanks for the comment, Anna 🙂

  4. What do we do when our keyboard stops responding the way we want it to? Is there a pill for that?

Leave a Reply

