The Love Affair Has At Long Last Begun…

Finally, I have started writing my first novel. For real this time. I had written a couple of chapters some time ago but they’ve been scratched. Not so much from the fact that they’re no longer any good or where I want to go with the book but that I have learned so much about the craft of writing since then.

In the meantime, I’ve been laying groundwork. I’ve established a base and have the best followers on Twitter. I’ve gotten involved with the most awesome, talented group of writers on Triberr. From there, I have met and made great friends in the writing community who are more than willing to lend advice when asked. So, I figure it’s time.

For well over a year, I’ve been making notes and jotting down dialogue. I’ve learned to keep a pen and pad of paper by my bedside. My imagination is never quiet. Before you know it, the light comes back on well past midnight and I’m jotting down more ideas.

For a while, I had a hard time deciding whether to pursue writing a true Romance, with a hint of erotica, or a Paranormal Romance geared more towards a young adult audience. I’ve got good storylines for both. After a great friend, who is a published author and who will be editing my work, read my writing, he said definitely the true Romance should be my chosen path. Thus, I have allowed the love affair between my two main characters to begin. Believe me, they are more than ready to have it be told.

So far I’ve got the outline mapped out, set all the margins and formatted my paragraphs beforehand rather than do it after-the-fact, and the character names are now etched in stone. I make a point of saying that because I’m terrible at coming up with names and titles. That in and of itself was a small hurdle to overcome.

Now, after only three paragraphs and 500 words into it, I find the setting of where my story begins has me going to the library to do some quick research. I don’t mind at all. First off, I love the library. Second, I even love research. I actually discovered a whole book while I was at the library, a treasure I wasn’t even looking for, that will enable me to develop one of my characters even deeper.

I’ll be commenting here, every now and then, to bring you up to speed on my progress. Please feel free to tag along and enjoy the journey with me. Hopefully it won’t get too bumpy.

Gail Gentry, Author

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Love Affair Has At Long Last Begun…

  1. Anna Tan says:

    Sounds like a good start!
    All the best! =)

  2. Jerry Gentry says:

    You’ve got everything going in the right direction. You will do great. Everyday. Just write something every day. Don’t throw it away. You may edit it later, but keep everything of that first draft. Those deletes could be the start of the next book.

    You have a good voice already, just let it come through and you will be golden.

    JL Gentry

  3. Best of luck to you. Believe me when I say there is no small amount of euphoria that comes with writing that first book and finally penning those words “The End”

  4. smboyce says:

    I empathize with the light bulb going off at midnight! I’m glad you keep a pen and paper with you, because some of the best ideas, characters, and plot twists come at the most random of times.

    It sounds like you’re off to a great start! If you ever want to discuss writing or bounce dialogue off of me, just let me know. I wish you all the best!

    S.M. Boyce
    Author of The Grimoire: Lichgates
    When Kara opens the Grimoire, she’s thrown into a beautiful world full of terrifying things.
    Click here to read the first chapter for free.

  5. Trish – do not dread! You will love the experience. Not that it’s not occasionally painful. But mostly it’s wonderful. Wait until you see your characters come alive – it’s incredible. I wish you the best on this journey.

  6. John Walker says:

    Keep up the great work, Trish.
    Sometimes it can take years to write a book, especially if there’s research involved, so don’t be daunted. You’ve made a great start, so keep going, and keep building on the foundations you’ve set.
    You’ll get there in the end, and you’ll be so happy you completed the journey 🙂

  7. Jody says:

    Awesome bff i cant wait!

  8. Karina Cox says:

    So happy for you, Trish! Enjoy the process and good for you for taking the plunge!

  9. donnabmcnicol says:

    Like you, I am starting my first novel and it’s a romance but more subdued in the sex department. I’m also writing erotica under a pen name, lets me keep things hot and heavy…I find it had to meet in the middle. LOL!

  10. Sam Burgess says:

    Good luck with your writing,make sure you enjoy it! I’ve completed one and loved every minute of it and have now handed it over to be editing while I complete my next two.
    Thanks for making me smile while I read your blog, mine is still in infancy (I’m not even sure anyone has seen it that’s how new it is!) hopefully one day it will entertain others just as yours has for me!

Leave a Reply

